Home
About Us
Trade Policy
 
Trade / Development
Intellectual Property
Services
Contingent Protection
Regionalism
WTO Negotiations
Regulatory Policy

Home page > Research Topics > Trade Policy > Intellectual Property

Propriété intellectuelle

Au début des années 1990, un premier composant des secteurs de la santé – les médicaments brevetés – a fait irruption dans le monde du commerce international. Les négociations de l’Uruguay Round battaient de l’aile, et le soutien des industries reposant largement sur des droits de propriété intellectuelle devint essentiel pour les relancer. De fait, l’Accord de l’Uruguay Round ne fut signé que parce qu’il incluait un accord sur les droits de propriété intellectuelle (ADPIC), et il fut alors salué par des éloges unanimes.

Lors de la Ministérielle de Doha (2001), la propagation du sida observée au cours de la décennie précédente engendra un fort débat sur le libre accès aux médicaments « essentiels », notamment dans les pays les plus pauvres. Ce débat souleva un vaste éventail de questions – allant du fait de savoir si l’OMC était le meilleur endroit pour faire respecter la protection de la propriété intellectuelle à celui du meilleur usage possible de l’ADPIC, puisque ce dernier existait. Ce débat s’est clos par un accord sur le libre accès aux médicaments pour les pays les plus pauvres démunis de production pharmaceutique (il reste à voir comment cet accord sera appliqué).

Mais depuis la Ministérielle de Doha, un autre composant des secteurs de la santé, celui des soins médicaux, a émergé dans les négociations commerciales, certains membres de l’OMC étant fortement opposés à cette évolution, alors que d’autres (pays développés comme en développement) y sont favorables. Une évolution semblable apparaît au sein de l’Union européenne (UE) avec la proposition de remboursement des soins à tout citoyen de l’UE, où qu’il ait été soigné en Europe.

Enfin, une troisième question de propriété intellectuelle est en train de devenir importante : celle des règles sur les « indications géographiques », c’est à dire des noms de lieux utilisés pour identifier l’origine ou la qualité, la réputation ou d’autres caractéristiques des produits (par exemple, Champagne, Tequila ou Roquefort). Cette dernière question est étroitement liée à la libéralisation des échanges agricoles.

 

Home | Contact | Sitemap
GEM: 28, rue des Saints-Pères, 75007 Paris - France

Tél. +33(0)1 45 49 72 56 - Fax +33(0)1 45 49 72 57

Home
About Us
Trade Policy
 
Trade / Development
Intellectual Property
Services
Contingent Protection
Regionalism
WTO Negotiations
Regulatory Policy

Home page > Research Topics > Trade Policy > Intellectual Property

Intellectual Property

In the early 1990s, a first aspect of the health sector -- patented drugs -- burst quite unexpectedly into the trade forum: the ongoing Uruguay Round was in disarray, and the support of sectors using intellectual property rights (IPRs) intensively became essential to move it forward. Indeed, the Uruguay Round Agreement was signed in 1994 largely because it included a then much praised Trade-Related Intellectual Property Rights Agreement (TRIPs).

During the 2001 WTO Doha Ministerial, the spread of AIDS in developing countries during the previous decade fuelled a bitter debate about access to “essential” medicines, particularly for people in the poorest countries. This debate raised a wide range of issues—from whether the WTO was the best place to enforce IPR protection to how to make the best possible use of the TRIPs Agreement (since it existed). The debate ended up with an agreement about the conditions for free access to drugs by the poorest countries having no domestic drug production (it remains to be seen how this agreement will be implemented)

Since the Doha Ministerial, another component of the health sector - health care services - has entered the WTO forum, with some WTO Members vehemently opposed to this evolution, but others (developing as well as developed countries) showing a strong interest. Interestingly enough, there is a similar debate within the European Union (EU) about the proposal, included in the Directive on service, of reimbursing health costs to a EU citizen, wherever he/she will be cured.

A last IPR issue looms big at the horizon: the rules to be adopted for “geographical indications”, that is, indications which identify a good as originating from a country, or a region or a locality in that territory, as an attribute for a given quality or other characteristics of the goods (such as Champagne, Tequila or Roquefort). This last issue is closely linked with farm trade liberalisation.

 

Home | Contact | Sitemap
GEM: 28, rue des Saints-Pères, 75007 Paris - France

Tél. +33(0)1 45 49 72 56 - Fax +33(0)1 45 49 72 57