Home
About Us
Trade Policy
 
Trade / Development
Intellectual Property
Services
Contingent Protection
Regionalism
WTO Negotiations
Regulatory Policy

Home page > Research Topics > Trade Policy > Agriculture > CAP Research Programme

Conference "The 2020 European agriculture: Long term challenges, new public and private policies"
[FR]

Papers from wisemen of each session

Swinnen, Jo, Agriculture, Food Security, Safety and Quality.
Moreddu, Catherine, Agriculture and structural adjustment: what public policies?.
Harvey, David, Agriculture & multifunctionality.

Watch Part II of the conference.

Agriculture and new public policies

The coming years will be dominated by three kinds of public policies which were relatively unimportant a few years ago: structural adjustment policies, policies dealing with agricultural and food safety, and those ensuring “multifunctionality”.

These policies deal with concerns that often nurture fears and protectionism. However, it is worth recalling that Europeans’ diet—an essential component of health—has little in common with what it was thirty or forty years ago, and this is mainly due to international trade of food products. As a result, the appropriate question about the three policies is to know how to develop them in a rapidly globalising world.

Session 4. Agriculture, Food Security, and Food Safety

It is important to distinguish food security (a sufficient supply of agricultural products) from food safety (the availability of “good” quality of food). What specific instruments should be used for the former and the latter? What is the appropriate balance between public intervention and markets, between regulations (national, regional, and multilateral) and private standards?

President Louis-Pascal Mahé, INRA
Wiseman Jo Swinnen, LICOS Leuven
Discussants Laurence Roudart, AgroParisTech
Aymard de Montigny, SAF-agriculteurs de France

Listen to session 4
Download Jo Swinnen: Agriculture, Food Security, Safety and Quality.

Session 5. CAP and Structural Adjustment

A modern agricultural policy should promote the competitiveness of heterogeneous agricultural structures while reducing distortions on prices and production. It should also allow restructurings that an uncertain future may require. How can we develop such a policy, taking into account specific agricultural structures (family-run farms, land control, etc.) and the links between the evolution of farmers’ organizations and CMOs?

President Pierre Boulanger, Groupe d’Economie Mondiale (GEM)
Wiseman Catherine Moreddu, OECD
Discussants Jean-Pierre Butault, INRA

Bruno Ledru, Jeunes Agriculteurs

Listen to session 5
Download Catherine Moreddu: Agriculture and structural adjustment: what public policies?.

Session 6. Agriculture and “Multifunctionality”

Markets often take care of the interactions between agriculture and the environment. However, markets are partially or totally inefficient when “public” goods are involved. How can we estimate the value of particular public goods, in order to distinguish primary and secondary concerns? This is a particular difficulty in Europe, where civil society groups tend to have widely divergent opinions on such topics. How can we devolve operating (regulatory and budgetary) competences among local, national and European levels? What should be the architecture for the various Single Farm Payments?

President Jean-Pierre Butault, INRA
Wiseman David Harvey, Newcastle University
Discussants François Lefebvre, CNASEA
Louis-Pascal Mahé, INRA
Thierry Pouch, APCA

Listen to session 6
Download David Harvey: Agriculture & multifunctionality.

 

Home | Contact | Sitemap
GEM: 28, rue des Saints-Pères, 75007 Paris - France

Tél. +33(0)1 45 49 72 56 - Fax +33(0)1 45 49 72 57

Home
About Us
Trade Policy
 
Trade / Development
Intellectual Property
Services
Contingent Protection
Regionalism
WTO Negotiations
Regulatory Policy

Home page > Research Topics > Trade Policy > Agriculture > CAP Research Programme

Conférence « L’agriculture européenne en 2020: Défis à long terme, nouvelles politiques publiques et privées »
[EN]

Les papiers des grands témoins de chaque session

Swinnen, Jo, Agriculture, Food Security, Safety and Quality (Version préliminaire). Version française à venir.
Moreddu, Catherine, Agriculture et ajustement structurel: quelles politiques publiques?
Harvey, David, Agriculture & multifunctionality. Version française à venir.

Visionner la partie II de la conférence

AGRICULTURE ET NOUVELLES POLITIQUES PUBLIQUES : 30 janvier 2009

Les années à venir seront dominées par trois types de politiques publiques, relativement secondaires il y a encore peu : les politiques d’ajustement structurel, celles assurant les sécurités agricole et alimentaire et celles assurant la multifonctionnalité.

Ces politiques traitent de préoccupations qui ont souvent engendré peurs et réactions protectionnistes. Pourtant, il faut rappeler que la diète alimentaire—capitale pour la santé—des Européens est d’une diversité sans commune mesure avec celle d’il y a trente ou quarante ans largement grâce aux échanges internationaux. La question qui se pose est donc de savoir comment développer ces trois politiques dans un monde en cours de globalisation.

Session 4. Agriculture et sécurités agricole et alimentaire

Il faut distinguer sécurité agricole (une offre agricole suffisante) et sécurité alimentaire (une qualité alimentaire jugée satisfaisante). Quels instruments précis d’action publique choisir pour l’une et pour l’autre ? Quels équilibres faut-il assurer entre interventionnisme et marché, entre réglementations (nationales, régionales et multilatérales) et standards privés ?

Président Louis-Pascal MAHE, INRA
Grand témoin Jo SWINNEN, LICOS Leuven
Intervenants Laurence ROUDART, AgroParisTech - Aymard DE MONTIGNY, SAF-agriculteurs de France

Ecouter la session 4
Télécharger le papier de Jo Swinnen : Agriculture, Food Security, Safety and Quality. Version française à venir.

Session 5. PAC et ajustements structurels

Une politique agricole moderne doit favoriser la compétitivité de structures agricoles hétérogènes tout en minimisant les distorsions sur les prix et les productions. Elle doit aussi permettre les redéploiements en bon ordre qu’un futur plus incertain que jamais pourrait exiger. Comment décliner une telle politique en tenant compte de structures agricoles précises (exploitations familiales, contrôle des structures, etc.) et des liens entre l’évolution des inter-professions et celle des OCM ?

Président Pierre BOULANGER, Groupe d’Economie Mondiale (GEM)
Grand témoin Catherine MOREDDU, OCDE
Intervenants Jean-Pierre BUTAULT, INRA - Bruno LEDRU, Jeunes Agriculteurs

Ecouter la session 5
Télécharger le papier de Catherine Moreddu : Agriculture et ajustement structurel: quelles politiques publiques?

Session 6. Agriculture et multifonctionnalité

Les liens entre agriculture et environnement sont souvent assurés par les marchés. Mais ces derniers sont partiellement ou totalement défaillants en cas de biens « publics ». Comment valoriser ces biens publics—pour distinguer ceux jugés essentiels de ceux jugés secondaires—dans une Europe composée de sociétés civiles aux opinions diverses sur ce sujet ? Comment répartir les compétences opérationnelles, réglementaires et budgétaires entre échelon local, national et européen ? Quelle architecture pour le(les) régime(s) de droits à paiement unique ?

Président Jean-Pierre BUTAULT, INRA
Grand témoin David HARVEY, Université de Newcastle
Intervenants François LEFEBVRE, CNASEA - Louis-Pascal MAHE, INRA - Thierry POUCH, APCA

Ecouter la session 6
Télécharger le papier de David Harvey: Agriculture & multifunctionality. Version française à venir.

 

Home | Contact | Sitemap
GEM: 28, rue des Saints-Pères, 75007 Paris - France

Tél. +33(0)1 45 49 72 56 - Fax +33(0)1 45 49 72 57