Home
About Us
Trade Policy
 
Trade / Development
Intellectual Property
Services
Contingent Protection
Regionalism
WTO Negotiations
Regulatory Policy

Home page > Research Topics > Trade Policy > Agriculture > EBP Research Programme

« European Biofuels Policy » Research Programme (EBP)
[FR]

The dramatic rise in energy prices, the geopolitical tensions in some oil producing-regions, the uncertainties surrounding the future availability and access to non-renewable resources and increasing environmental concerns have awaken a strong interest for biofuels in many parts of the world.

The European Union does not escape this sudden and unprecedented wave of enthusiasm for agro-food fuels. Since 2003, a multiplication of measures promoting the production of biofuels has been observed. However, the non-harmonization of policies at the EU level encourages member states to act as free-riders and to elaborate their own action plans and instruments independently of the policies carried out in the rest of the EU. The result is a dramatic lack of visibility regarding the current and prospective effective European strategy in this sector, reinforced by the absence of sound and detailed publicly available data.

Although biofuels is one of the most promoted topics in the media, in public discourses and in international events, the lack of transparency characterizing this sector is puzzling. Language barriers, confidentiality evoked by public administrations and firms, absence of common methodology for data collection are among the most frequent impediments that limit the access to useful information on EU member states biofuels policies. As a result, it is currently very complex to address the interrogations that have emerged regarding the EU policy, such as its accuracy with the posted objectives and the sustainability of the sector.

The objective of the European Biofuels Policy Research Programme (EBP) conducted at GEM is to provide sound and detailed data and analysis on EU biofuels measures. That will facilitate the assessment of the current and planed policies carried out by EU member states and allow for international comparison to contribute to the public debate. EBP seeks also to propose and promote policy alternatives based on enlightened economic policy analysis.

Contacts:

For information: ebp-gem@sciences-po.fr

Programme Coordinator: Luiz Fernando do Amaral
luiz.amaral@sciences-po.org
Phone: +33 (0)6 37 60 14 25

 

Home | Contact | Sitemap
GEM: 28, rue des Saints-Pères, 75007 Paris - France

Tél. +33(0)1 45 49 72 56 - Fax +33(0)1 45 49 72 57

Home
About Us
Trade Policy
 
Trade / Development
Intellectual Property
Services
Contingent Protection
Regionalism
WTO Negotiations
Regulatory Policy

Home page > Research Topics > Trade Policy > Agriculture > EBP Research Programme

« European Biofuels Policy » Research Programme (EBP)
[EN]

La hausse significative du prix de l’énergie, les tensions géopolitiques dans certaines régions productrices de pétrole, l’incertitude sur la disponibilité à long terne des énergies fossiles et la prise de conscience des problèmes environnementaux ont suscité un intérêt croissant pour les biocarburants au niveau mondial.

L’Union européenne (UE) n’a pas échappé à cet engouement et des mesures visant à promouvoir leur utilisation dans les états membres se sont multipliées depuis 2003. Cependant, l’absence d’harmonisation de ces politiques au niveau européen a encouragé les états membres à faire cavalier seul, mettant en place leurs propres plans d'action, indépendamment des politiques menées dans le reste de l’UE. Il en résulte un réel manque de visibilité sur la stratégie européenne dans ce domaine, renforcé par l’absence de données concrètes facilement accessibles.

Bien que le thème des biocarburants soit omniprésent tant dans les medias que dans les discours politiques et les événements internationaux, il est frappant de constater le manque de transparence qui entoure ce secteur. De multiples obstacles freinent l'accès à des informations précises sur ce sujet: barrières linguistiques, confidentialité souvent invoquée par les entreprises et les administrations publiques, absence de méthodologie commune pour la collecte des données, entre autres. Dans ce contexte, il est actuellement difficile d’apporter des éléments de réponse aux interrogations pourtant soulevées par la politique européenne en matière de biocarburants, telles que l' adéquation de cette dernière avec les objectifs fixés ou son efficience économique et environnementale.

L’objectif du programme de recherche « European Biofuels Policy » (EBP) est de fournir des données détaillées et des analyses de fond sur les mesures prises par les pays européens dans le domaine des biocarburants. Le but est de faciliter l’évaluation des politiques – actuelles et futures – menées dans ce secteur et de permettre d’établir des comparaisons internationales afin de contribuer au débat public. EBP vise également à proposer et à promouvoir des alternatives aux politiques actuellement menées, sur la base d’analyses économiques objectives et constructives.

Contacts:

Pour de plus amples informations: ebp-gem@sciences-po.fr

Coordinateur du programme : Luiz Fernando do Amaral
luiz.amaral@sciences-po.org
Tél: +33 (0)6 37 60 14 25

 

Home | Contact | Sitemap
GEM: 28, rue des Saints-Pères, 75007 Paris - France

Tél. +33(0)1 45 49 72 56 - Fax +33(0)1 45 49 72 57