Home
About Us
Trade Policy
 
Trade / Development
Intellectual Property
Services
Contingent Protection
Regionalism
WTO Negotiations
Regulatory Policy

Home page > Research Topics > Trade Policy > Agriculture & Commodities

Agriculture et matières premières

Programme de recherche « Efficience, équité et transparence de la PAC »
( version française, English version)

Programme de recherche « European Biofuels Policy » (EBP)
(Version française, English version

Programme de recherche: "Managing the World Water Gap" (GAP)
English version

L’agriculture représente une proportion faible, et toujours décroissante, du PNB des pays développés. Par contre, elle demeure un secteur vaste et vital pour beaucoup de pays en développement. Il reste que libéraliser les échanges agricoles reste très sensible d’un point de vue politique, dans les pays développés comme en développement. C’est pourquoi l’Uruguay Round (1986-1995), s’il a ré-introduit l’agriculture dans le champ des négociations commerciales de l’OMC, n’a pas réussi à faire avancer la libéralisation des échanges agricoles mondiaux – contrairement à ce qui est souvent affirmé. Aussi le succès du Doha Round dépend-il avant tout d’un accord substantiel dans ce domaine agricole.

Les négociations commerciales agricoles

Les échanges agricoles représentent seulement 12% du commerce mondial. L’agriculture est un des rares exemples où les pays riches de l'OCDE sont, en général, plus protégés que les pays en développement. La vaste gamme et l’ampleur des barrières affectant les produits agricoles, la large diversité des intérêts en jeu, souvent conflictuels, rendent difficiles les négociations multilatérales à l'OMC et régionales comme par exemple, entre l’Union Européenne et le Mercosur.

L’accord cadre défini à l’OMC en juillet 2004 ne constitue qu'une avancée modeste dans les négociations en cours. Il a laissé beaucoup de problèmes difficiles à résoudre avant la prochaine conférence ministérielle de l’OMC de Hong-Kong en décembre 2005. Certains semblent en cours de résolution, comme la transposition des droits de douane spécifiques en droits ad valorem, un point très technique, mais d’une portée économique, donc politique, essentielle.

Publications/papers

Cliquez ici

La Politique Agricole Commune (PAC)

Perçue comme un pilier de l’Union européenne, la PAC fait l’objet depuis 1992 de réformes très partielles. La dernière en date (2003) ne permettra toujours pas à l’UE de faire face aux défis de son élargissement en Europe centrale comme à ceux d'une libéralisation notable des échanges agricoles mondiaux dans le cadre du Doha Round.

Programme de recherche « Efficience, équité et transparence de la PAC »
( en français, in English)

Les marchés des matières premières

Du point de vue réglementaire, les marchés des produits primaires ont connu de profonds changements au cours des vingt dernières années : l’effondrement des régimes de stabilisation des prix internationaux, la libéralisation des filières d’offre domestiques, l’émergence de multinationales agro-alimentaires, pour en citer quelques-unes. Les structures de marché résultant de ces changements, comme leurs conséquences sur les producteurs de produits primaires des pays en développement, ne sont pas encore totalement analysés.

Liens

Contacts
Géraldine Kutas
Ben Shepherd

 

Home | Contact | Sitemap
GEM: 28, rue des Saints-Pères, 75007 Paris - France

Tél. +33(0)1 45 49 72 56 - Fax +33(0)1 45 49 72 57

Home
About Us
Trade Policy
 
Trade / Development
Intellectual Property
Services
Contingent Protection
Regionalism
WTO Negotiations
Regulatory Policy

Home page > Research Topics > Trade Policy > Agriculture

Agriculture

Research Programme « CAP Efficiency, equity et transparency »
(English version, version française)

« European Biofuels Policy » Research Programme (EBP)
(English version, version française)

Managing the World Water Gap, A Global Approach Programme (GAP)
English version

A small and still declining percentage of GDP in developed countries, the agricultural sector remains large, and hence vital for many developing countries. At the same time, liberalising trade in agricultural products is highly sensitive from a political point of view, both in developed and developing countries. This is why the Uruguay Round of multilateral trade negotiation (1986-1995) re-incorporated the farm sector in the WTO framework, but was unable to achieve significant effective liberalisation. A successful conclusion to WTO negotiations in the ongoing Doha Round thus depends to a large extent on finding agreement in this one area.

Agricultural Trade Negotiations
Trade in agricultural products only accounts for approximately 12% of world trade. Agriculture is one of the rare cases where OECD rich countries are generally more protected than developing countries. The wide range and magnitude of barriers affecting agricultural trade, and the large diversity of often conflicting interests have hampered multilateral (WTO) and regional (such as between the European Union and Mercosur) trade negotiations.

The WTO Framework Agreement reached in July 2004 constitutes a modest step forward. It still leaves many contentious issues to be solved before the next WTO Ministerial Conference to be held in Hong-Kong in December 2005. Some issues seem on the verge to be solved, such as the transposition of specific duties into ad valorem tariffs, a very technical point of crucial importance from an economic, and hence political, perspective.

Common Agricultural Policy
The Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) is one of the pillars of the European Community. Its reform has been very slow and incomplete. Indeed, it is not clear yet whether the latest reform of the CAP (in 2003) will allow the European community to face the new challenges of EU enlargement and Doha negotiations on freer trade of farm products.

Research Programme « CAP Efficiency, equity et transparency »
(in English, en français)

Primary Commodities Markets
From a regulatory point of view, international commodity markets have undergone profound changes over the last twenty years: the collapse of international price stabilisation regimes, liberalisation of domestic supply chains and the rise of multinational agribusiness companies, just to name a few. The market structures that have resulted from these changes, as well as their implications for developing country commodity producers, are still not fully understood.

Publications/papers

Click here for publications and papers.

Links

Contacts
Géraldine Kutas
Ben Shepherd

 

Home | Contact | Sitemap
GEM: 28, rue des Saints-Pères, 75007 Paris - France

Tél. +33(0)1 45 49 72 56 - Fax +33(0)1 45 49 72 57