Home
About Us
History
Organisation
Contact
Research Topics
Publications
News & Events
Research Network
Educational Resources

 

Home page > About Us > Français
Qui sommes-nous ?

Nos domaines clés:

Politique commerciale
La libéralisation commerciale contribue fortement à la croissance économique d’un pays. Mais, pour ce faire, elle peut exiger des "réformes réglementaires" appropriées au niveau national – le libre-échange n’est pas le laissez-faire.

Les travaux du GEM donnent une place de plus en plus importante aux services qui représentent les deux tiers du PNB dans la plupart des pays, et offrent donc des opportunités particulièrement importantes de croissance dans les économies développés comme en développement.

Le GEM a de nombreux contacts avec les institutions internationales, comme l’OMC, les Nations Unies ou la Banque Mondiale, ainsi qu’avec les firmes et ONG intéressées par les questions commerciales.

"Réformes réglementaires"
Les nouvelles technologies, l’expansion des échanges mettent à l’épreuve les régulations existantes, les rendant souvent moins efficaces au niveau national, et moins cohérentes sur le plan international. Les autorités nationales doivent donc trouver de nouvelles approches pour atteindre les objectifs jugés désirables.

C'est pourquoi, à la fin de 2004, le GEM a lancé, avec l’AEI-Brookings Joint Center for Regulatory Studies, une initiative pour développer en Europe les études d’évaluation économique des régulations, au niveau national, européen, transatlantique et internationale.

Davantage nous concernant...

Un « think tank » organisé en réseau et traitant de politique économique… Le GEM réunit universitaires et experts des secteurs public et privé pour fournir des analyses fondées sur les faits et sur un raisonnement économique, des problèmes actuels des politiques commerciale et réglementaire.

Promouvant une gouvernance économique plus éclairée. Les décideurs européens doivent répondre aux défis de la globalisation et de la libéralisation d’une façon moins pusillanime et plus entreprenante. Les bénéfices de l’intégration économique ne peuvent être engrangés que si les gouvernements et les entreprises font une analyse rigoureuse des défis auxquels ils sont confrontés, permettant ainsi le fonctionnement de marchés plus efficients et la définition d'objectifs économiques et sociaux plus précis.

Visant une audience nationale, européenne et internationale. Afin de mieux contribuer au débat public européen, le GEM publiera non seulement en anglais, mais aussi dans d’autres langues européennes chaque fois que nécessaire.

Financial Times, 26 janvier 2005 FT January 25th, 2005

Le Monde, 23 novembre 2004 Le Monde, 23 November 2004


 

Home | Contact | Sitemap
GEM: 28, rue des Saints-Pères, 75007 Paris - France

Tél. +33(0)1 45 49 72 56 - Fax +33(0)1 45 49 72 57

Home
About Us
History
Organisation
Contact
Research Topics
Publications
News & Events
Research Network
Educational Resources
Home page > About Us
About Us

Our key topics:

Trade Policy
Trade liberalisation can make an important contribution to domestic economic growth in national economies. But, in order to do so, it may require appropriate regulatory policies at the national level -- free trade is not necessarily "laisser-faire".

GEM's work increasingly focuses on trade in the services sector, which represents about two thirds of GDP in most economies, hence offers particularly important opportunities for growth in developed and developing economies.

GEM often interacts with international institutions such as the WTO, UN and World Bank, as well as with firms and NGOs interested in trade issues.

Regulatory Policy
New technologies and the expansion of trade are testing existing regulations, rendering them less effective on the national level and less coherent on the international level. This is putting pressure on national authorities to find new approaches to achieving public objectives.

In this domain, GEM launched an initiative with the AEI-Brookings Joint Center for Regulatory Studies to develop a programme in Europe on the economic assessment of regulations at the national and EU level from 2004 to 2008 (when the joint initiative ended and the Center passed under the of AEI only). Then GEM worked on these issues with other institutions and in particular the GMF.

And more about us...

A network based, policy oriented think tank. GEM brings together international academics and industry experts from the private and public sectors to provide fact-finding, economically sound and policy oriented analysis of current trade and regulatory policy issues.

Promoting better economic governance. European policy makers have to tackle the challenges of liberalisation and globalisation in a much more pro-active manner. Benefits of economic integration can only be grasped if governments, firms and citizens take a sober look at the challenges they face and if they think carefully about ways of making domestic markets work better to achieve better defined social and economic policy objectives.

Targeting national, european and international audiences. In order to better contribute to public debate, GEM will publish not only in English but also where relevant in other European languages.

Articles about the GEM and AEI-Brookings Initiative that have appeared in the press may be found here:

Financial Times, 26 January 2005 FT January 25th, 2005

Le Monde, 23 November 2004 Le Monde, 23 November 2004


 

Home | Contact | Sitemap
GEM: 28, rue des Saints-Pères, 75007 Paris - France

Tél. +33(0)1 45 49 72 56 - Fax +33(0)1 45 49 72 57